Appearance on Ep.1 of Into Taqwa With Mizz Nina on TV AlHijrah

Salam all! As some of you might have already known or seen, recently I made an appearance on TV AlHijrah as a guest on their brand new talkshow called “Into Taqwa with Mizz Nina”.

When I arrived at the production set, I was surprised that one of the broadcast journalists was a senior of mine. Although I did not know her prior to the meeting, the closeness made the experience more comfortable. The host, Mizz Nina, was also lovely to to talk to which made it all enjoyable alhamdulillah.

I was told that some viewers had posted positive feedback on TV AlHijrah’s social media pages, as well as on mine, and most have demanded that I post the script of the poem which I had read on the show. So the point of this post today is to share that with you :)

intotaqwa

Apparently it aired on the 20th and the 26th, which, I believe was a re-run. I figured that because suddenly there was influx of follow requests on my Instagram last Saturday! Haha! Unfortunately where I live I do not own a TV set, so I didn’t get to watch it on both occasions. Do please leave some comments or screenshots of the show here if you did enjoy watching it.

Kindly give credit should you wish to share the script as a whole, or in parts. BaarakAllahu feekum.

 

First Impressions And Misassessments

 

If this is the first time you’re seeing this face

Then by the time I finish this sentence

You would have formed some kind of

Mental connection about me and my being here

In your mind, in your subconscious.

 

And yes, it is unavoidable, it is inevitable

But get in the habit of making excuses

For your sister or that mister

 

And shut the door, that mental door

when a bad one knocks begging to be let in

Let it know

That you wish not to know the sins of a person

Before even saying hello.

 

But we all do it- every second, everyday

How right are we always, anyway?

 

You don’t know where they stand in front of their Maker

Judging by the way they eat, speak and dress

Do you call someone lazy just because they love sleep?

Or crazy just because in riddles they speak?

 

I have a friend who has an insulin pump that goes from inside her and out

Who’s as brave and active as cat

But you couldn’t tell that

from admiring that accent she’s got

Or from wondering what her eye colour is not.

 

I know someone who speaks to others to find God

But has 28 slashes along her arm

Each pink wound is healing before it is again harmed

When I’m with her she makes me remember

Who we are before the “salt & pepper”.

 

This other person I know has a mysterious exterior

Don’t be fooled by her dark demeanor,

I know for a fact first impressions are often wrong

Because I think I’ve found a long lost friend in her all along.

 

So just because you cannot see somebody’s halo

Doesn’t mean you can adopt that holier than thou

Mentality, for she and you, you and I

We bleed red and to him we’ll all die.

 

So the rule of thumb when seeing anybody

Is to not assume the role of their Maker

Because who died and made you king

Unless it is good prudence that you bring.

 

So know this,

 

Makeup can never cover up an ugly personality

Go professional, go mineral or even HD

I guarantee, it will peak through like the

Uncomfortable heat of the sun upon your sleepy lids

 

And if you know what you’re doing is a sin

Don’t say “Only God can judge me”

Because if you really know what that means

Then you’d want all the people’s hints!

 

So give me a reason to think of you good,

So we can walk together;

Come suspicion or falsehood.

 

I don’t need to hear of the battles you fought;

That I already see from your scars you got..

So hint to me, dear sister, dear brother, without words,

 

what it’s like to live in your world.

 

 

 

If you told me to count the many times I’ve mis-estimated, miscalculated the volume of liquid a vessel could handle,

the effect of sand in a sandal,

the amount of effort it takes to burn the midnight candle,

I wouldn’t be able to tell you.

 

Even with all my twenty fingers and toes

I wouldn’t be able to tell you how many times I’ve mistook a customer for a seller, a king for a labourer, a servant for a minister.

 

on my first day of uni someone tapped me on the shoulder

in the library

asking me if I was now doing my PhD

when it was just my first bachelor’s degree

she said she recognized me from some event I did my poetry

and i thought, wow, in the same way it is easy to underestimate

it is also easy to do the opposite

and that taught me humility.

 

If you told me to count the many times I’ve mis-estimated, miscalculated the volume of liquid a vessel could handle,

the effect of sand in a sandal,

the amount of effort it takes to burn the midnight candle,

I wouldn’t be able to tell you.

 

Even with all my twenty fingers and toes

I wouldn’t be able to tell you how many times I’ve mistook a customer for a seller, a king for a labourer, a servant for a minister.

 

The hijab is amazing.

No I’m not talking about the ones we wrap around our heads, I’m talking about the one which veils our offenses, imperfections, shortcomings and weaknesses

 

we have faults which He conceals from the sight of others

and we have merits too that are often not hanging off our necks and ankles -they’re not for display

So don’t assume we are angels who never sin

and don’t presume we don’t have a soft heart judging by our leathery skin.

 

Just because she wears a coloured scarf doesn’t mean she has never given charity

and just because you’ve been a senior in the industry doesn’t mean you’re better than the fresh graduate rookie

 

Ask yourself how many people are famous on earth but are unknown in the Heavens?

And how many are unknown on earth but famous in the Heavens?

 

If you told me to count the many times I’ve mis-estimated, miscalculated If you told me to count the many times I’ve mis-estimated, miscalculated the volume of liquid a vessel could handle,

the effect of sand in a sandal,

the amount of effort it takes to burn the midnight candle,

I wouldn’t be able to tell you.

 

Even with all my twenty fingers and toes

I wouldn’t be able to tell you how many times I’ve mistook a customer for a seller, a king for a labourer, a servant for a minister.

 

Bilal was a slave who called the call to prayer.

Umar was an enemy before he became family.

Khidr struck a hole in the old fisherman’s boat-

yet he still was the better scholar

And the wife of Zakariyya was elderly, yet Allah granted her a baby.

 

So make 70 excuses before you utter something bitter

And perhaps Al-Hakm the Judge will reward you better in the Hereafter.

One thought on “Appearance on Ep.1 of Into Taqwa With Mizz Nina on TV AlHijrah

  1. Tengok akak dlm rancangan into taqwa with mizz nina. tak tau nama sbb dpt tgk akak masa baca poem je tapi gigih cari akak and terjumpa blog ni. alhamdulillah. hee. nice poem sbb sangat menyentuh hati saya. may Allah bless you always. :)

Leave a Reply

