Forgive me when I whine

I sort of grew up listening to nasheeds. And this one in particular was my favourite of Zain Bhikha’s. When I heard it for the first time, I was so moved by the lyrics that I shed tears.  I once got impatient with a lady who seemed like she was purposely trying to piss me off at the steps (FYI I can’t stand people who walk slow) until I saw her walking cane. That made me feel hella awful. I was just thinking about that this morning and I thought I’d post the lyrics up here.

 

Today, upon a bus I saw a girl with golden hair,

And in my heart I wished that I was just as fair

When suddenly she rose to leave, I saw her hobble down the aisle.

She had one leg and wore a crutch, but as she passed, a smile.
Oh Allah, Oh Allah, forgive me when I whine.
I have two legs to walk upon and the world is mine.

I stopped to buy some candy; met a boy who had such charm.
We talked, he seemed so happy, if I were late, it do no harm.
And as I left, he said to me, “Thank you, you’ve been so kind.
It’s nice to talk with folks like you. You see,” he said, “I’m blind.”
Oh Allah, Oh Allah, forgive me when I whine.
I have two eyes to see the world and the world is mine.

Later that day on my way, I saw a boy with eyes of blue.
He watched the other children play; he did not know what to do.
I stopped a moment, then I said, “Why don’t you join the others, dear?”
He kept on looking straight ahead and then I knew he could not hear
Oh Allah, Oh Allah, forgive me when I whine.
I have two ears to hear the world and world is mine.

With legs to take me where I’d go.
With eyes to see the sunset glow.
With ears to hear what I’d know
Oh the world is mine

I stopped for a moment, just look how much I have
Everywhere, in all our lives, these are His signs.

Forgive Me When I Whine | Zain Bhikha

One thought on “Forgive me when I whine

  1. NO WAY! i was listening to the same nasheed, like a few days ago! someone showed me the video years ago, and cos that song was planted in my head, i finally looked for it on youtube myself. HAHA bainwavee~~

Leave a Reply

