A Thank You note

If there is something I wrote which you have an opinion against, hold it to yourself for the benefit of us both, really. But if it is uncontainable, then let it out carefully as if you are pulling a sword out for the first time and dip its tip in honey. I cannot really gauge the audience that my words might reach. Some of you could be educators, teachers, professors and perhaps even scholars. Therefore I am a nobody compared to you. If I happened to express something that is politically-incorrect, Islamically-unacceptable, or offensive in any way or form, then please, by all means, inform me. I’m not a person who is allergic to being corrected. In fact I thank you really, for telling me where I stand in knowledge. SubhanAllah it humbles me down. So thank you.

However, in a case where I have responded to you by explaining, re-instating my humble non-worthy views, and it happens to be that you have indeed misinterpreted my words, then do not remove your comment(s) for it would make both of us look foolish. I try my best to speak up to the extent where I am best allowed to, for I am no professional- just an on-looker of the affairs of the world who just happens to have a blog. Therefore forgive me if I’ve ever somehow crossed the line on those grounds where I am seen under-qualified to speak out or have a say in. I am not free from faults, you must know that. But we can agree easily together and with each other on things which are clear, right? Simple. If you are so easily disturbed by another person’s stand that does not conform to your ideals that you are quick to promote his extermination, if you find that you are hasty in wanting to admonish that person publicly for a view you are strongly against, then please can you tell me who your Teacher is? Because mine taught me to be tolerant and kind, and to only speak when it is the Truth and to speak out when Truth is being attacked, molested and distorted. Feel free to express your opinions which differ from mine, but do not leave me hanging there after a lengthy explanation have been patiently and painstakingly written especially for your sake. Don’t remove your comments. In cases where I am the one at fault, I too won’t remove my comment(s) if I made any. And if there were corrections to be made, I’ll do it. Let’s be civil, let’s be courteous Muslims :] You may be higher in me in education & career background, and perhaps even the Deen, but it does not give you the license to spill your misinterpretation of my words, carelessly, forcing me to respond, but when the deed is done as requested, the initial question is no where to be seen; I’m left seen talking to myself. Which really kinda sucks because it’s nothing personal you know, so no one should be offended. We’re all just learning. Cut the ‘I’ve got a rep to protect‘ crap. [excuse my language!]

I ask you to forgive me for the mistakes I’ve made in my posts, and in handling comments etc. I’m just trying my best. Trust me I struggle with the simplest of things here. Thank you for correcting me, allowing me to improve. It gives me hope when I know that I’m not annoyed at the Naseeha. My heart is not dead yet (inshaAllah) alhamdulillah.

May Allah grant us humility, patience and a higher understanding towards learning this Deen. Ameen.

And to everyone else who have been nothing but supportive, JazaakAllah khayr. I genuinely thank you from the bottom of my heart. I wish to hear more feedback inshaAllah. I’ve been getting personal messages on Tumblr and Facebook with regards to my posts on here, but hardly on this blog itself. But I’m happy all of you silent readers come from all around the world. I thank the Statistics-viewing option for showing me the real figures. MashaAllah I didn’t know people from Switzerland to India read this humble blog. Assalamualaykum to all of you out there!

Screen Shot 2013-08-19 at 9.29.28 AM Screen Shot 2013-08-19 at 9.29.44 AM Screen Shot 2013-08-19 at 9.29.54 AMMuch love and Salaams to this growing family! x

YZ

Leave a Reply

